Backpack Training Day 4 (RedCliff?)

I’m thinking about applying for an internship with RedCliff Ascent, a program that exposes at risk teens to the wild for 8 days. It would be an immense challenge for me. I’ve never done a backpacking trip of that magnitude. Something tells me I’m not ready for that, especially because a) a longer trip means more food and water to carry in, and more food and water means more weight and b) my only backpacking trip was a 2 day excursion, and I felt like I was going to die…. I think I’d definitely need to work up to an 8 day trip. Still, I’m always up for a challenge. Maybe I will apply. There’s always time to train between now and June 🙂

Today I did a pack walk. Small hills interspersed with a brisk jog.

Stats:

Time: 35 minutes

Pack weight: 30 lbs

Temp: 52 degrees

Distance: 1.3 miles

 

Categories: Training | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

